Organisational Set-Up

The Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment is entrusted with the welfare, social Justice and empowerment of disadvantaged and marginalized section of the society viz. Scheduled Caste, Backward Classes, Persons with Disabilities, Senior Citizens, and Victims of Drug Abuse etc.

Basic objective of the policies, programmes, law and institution of the Indian welfare system is to bring the target groups into the mainstream of development by making them self-reliant.

The Ministry is headed by Dr. Virendra Kumar, Cabinet Minister and ably assisted by three Ministers-of-State namely Shri A. Narayanaswamy, Km. Pratima Bhoumik and Shri Ramdas Athawale


There are two departments viz. Department of Social Justice and Empowerment and Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment. Shri R. Subrahmanyam (IAS, AP:1985) is the Secretary of Department of Social Justice & Empowerment. Ms. Anjali Bhawra (IAS) is the Secretary of Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities.Shri Surendra Singh (IAS, JH:1993) is the Additional Secretary of Department of Social Justice & Empowerment.


The Bureau Head wise Allocation of work in Department of Social Justice and Empowerment is as follows:-



Work Allocation

Shri Surendra Singh, Additional Secretary & CVO

Senior Citizen Division

  • Atal Vayo Abhyuday Yojana (AVYAY):  All matters pertaining to Senior Citizens
  • National Action Plan Preparation and implementation, Rashtriya Vayoshree Yojana
  • Chairperson, National Implementing Agency (NIA) of ELDERLINE.

Grant-in-aid to NGOs

  • SHRESHTA:  SCD-III Section

PCR/PoA Act, R.L. Cell/Corporate Cell

  • PCR/PoA  Act,
  • RL Cell
  • Corporate Cell

Administration & Vigilance

  • Administration(Estt. and  Cash Sections)
  • General Administration
  • Vigilance & CVO

CDN/Parliament/OL/Public Grievances

  • Coordination, Parliament
  • Official Language
  • Public Grievances (CPGRAMS), Facilitation/RTI Cell, CR Section


  • All matters related to Media


  • Development and Welfare Board for Denotified, Nomadic and Semi-Nomadic Communities (DWBDNCs Board)


Smt. Kalyani Chadha,

Joint Secretary

SCD-B Division:

  • SC Scholarship Schemes (PMS-SC and Pre-MS-SC)
  • PM-Anusuchit Jati Abhyuday Yojana - PM-AJAY including PMAGY
  • Direct Benefit Transfer
  • Sectoral Group of Secretaries
  • All matters related to National Scheduled Caste Finance Development Corporation (NSFDC) 
  • All matters related to DAF, DAIC, DANM and BJRNF at department level

Shri Ram Prasad Meena, Joint Secretary

 Backward Class Division(BC):

BC- I , II & III sections

(ii)National Commission for Backward Classes(NCBC),

(iii)National Backward Class Financial Development Corporation(NBCFDC)

(iv)Commission for Sub-Categorization of Backward Classes(CESOB)

Scheduled Caste Development-A (SCD-A) Division:

(i)Venture Capital Fund, Allocation, Credit Enhancement Guarantee   Scheme for   SC, Assistance to State SCD Corporation

(ii) All matters of NCSC including Jt. Cadre Group A posts NCSC-MSJE

(iii) Report Implementation of NCSC

Shri Sanjay Pandey,

Joint Secretary & FA

All matters relating to IFD & Budget:

Release of funds as per budgetary support, audit paras, PAC, EFC and SFC of the department in conjunction with the concerned Joint Secretary and Standing Committee work related to Demands for Grants.

Ms. Radhika Chakravarthy, Joint Secretary

Rest of the matters related to Social Defence(SD) Division:

  1. Drugs Abuse/Policy/Survey, Online NGO Portal related to Drug  Abuse
  2. Nasha Mukt Bharat Abhiyaan
  3. Transgenders Act and Rules
  4. Beggary abolition and Rehabilitation of persons engaged in begging
  5. Narmada Rehabilitation and Resettlement matters
  6. NISD and all matters pertaining to NISD
  7. Project Monitoring Unit
  8. Work of Information-Monitoring Evaluation and Social Audit (I-MESA) Scheme


Smt. Yogita Swaroop

Sr. Economic Adviser

All matters relating to Plan Division:

  1. Skill Development, Cabinet/EFC/SFC Notes of other Ministries , Reports relating to UN/ILO/ESCAP and other UN bodies,
  2. Safai karamchari Action Plan and implementation, SRMS, and RI Cell(NCSK component)
  3. Materials for Economy Survey/ Yojana, Miscellaneous Work relating to Parliament Questions/ Public Grievances/VIP References/ RTI etc. relating to Plan Division


Sr. Economic Adviser will directly circulate files to Secretary (SJE) pertaining to the matters of Safai Karamcharis.

Shri M.K. Ujjainia, DDG

  1. Developmental Action Plan for SCs (DAPSC) – monitoring Coordination with other Ministries and NITI Aayog
  2. All matters relating to Statistics Division:
  3. Evaluation Studies of Social Audit Scheme of this Department,
  4. Handbook/All  Statistics related matters ,
  5. Output-outcome framework,
  6. Gender Budget and other related issues,
  7. Preparation of Annual Report,
  8. Miscellaneous Work relating to Parliament Questions/ Public Grievances/VIP References/ RTI etc. relating to Statistics Division