¹THE CONSTITUTION (JAMMU AND KASHMIR) SCHEDULED CASTES ORDER, 1956^{*}

C.O. 52

[This order was initially issued for the then State of Jammu and Kashmir. However, vide s. 65 of Act No. 34 of 2019 it has been made applicable to Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir & Union territory of Ladakh w.e.f. 31.10.2019]

In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of article 341 of the Constitution of India, the President, after consultation with the Sadar-i-Riyasat of Jammu and Kashmir, is pleased to make the following Order, namely: —

1. This Order may be called the Constitution (Jammu and Kashmir) Scheduled Castes Order, 1956.*

2. The castes specified in the Schedule to this Order shall, for the purposes of the Constitution, be deemed to be Scheduled Castes in relation to the State of Jammu and Kashmir:

Provided that no person who professes a religion different from the Hindu ²[, the Sikh or the Buddhist] religion shall be deemed to be a member of a Scheduled Caste.

THE SCHEDULE

1. Barwala 2. Basith	8. Gardi 9. Jolaha
3. Batwal	10. Megh or Kabirpanthi
³ [4. Chamar or Ramdasia, Chamar-Ravidas,	11. Ratal
Chamar-Rohidas]	
⁴ [5. Valmiki (in the Union territory of Jammu and	12. Saryara
Kashmir only), Chura, Bhangi, Balmiki, Mehtar]	
6. Dhyar	13. Watal.
³ [7. Doom or Mahasha, Dumna]	

^{1.} Published with the Ministry of Law Notifn. No. S.R.O. 3135A, dated the 22nd December, 1956, Gazette of India, Extraordinary, 1956, Part II, Section 3, page 2686A.

^{2.} Subs. by Act 15 of 1990, s. 6, for "or the Sikh" (w.e.f. 3-6-1990).

^{3.} Subs. by Act 61 of 2002, s. 2 and the Third Sch.

^{4.} Subs. by Act 4 of 2024, s.2

^{*} This order has been made applicable to Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir and Union Territory of Laddakh vide sec 65 of Act. 34 of 2019.